Air date: 9/23

Red marks the important details from the episode.

Best quotes in orange.

  • The Swede has covered himself in clay/cut his hair like an Indian and shows up for one their rituals.
  • The Fate of Durant is unknown and the men question if they can count on their wadges as Lily doesn’t have that kind of authority. Cullen gets them all back to work.
  • Cullen goes the church to see Ruth.
  • (He’s really just looking for his own answers.)
  • “Ms.Ruth I’m the one who put the knife in Joesph’s hand.”– Cullen
  • “It doesn’t matter Mr.Bohannon my father got what he wanted. Once he wanted to be a christian but in the end what he really wanted was to be a martyr.”- Ruth
  • Cullen asks if she thinks Cole’s soul can find peace. (Indirectly referring to himself.)
  • “The truth is I think some people are beyond redemption.”– Ruth
  • Elam speaks to Mr.Toole wanting to know if heard anything from Eva yet.
  • “Like it or not you know exactly why its my concern.”- Elam
  • “I come here because I care about her same as you do.”- Elam
  • Lily ask the Swede for help in making sense of the books while Durant is away.
  • Sean is give a plot of land away to the church. Mickey knows its only because hes likes Ruth.
  • Elam shows up with a proposition, they want to buy the salon but Carl wont sell and he wants to help in exchange for a cut of the profits.
  • Cullen shows up the office and is surprised and angry to see the Swede working.
  • “I see you let the fox in the hen house.”– Cullen
  • “Mr.Gundersen is helping me.”- Lily
  • “Like hell he is.”– Cullen
  • Cullen takes his rifle and aims it at the Swede. He then bashes the Swede with the back of the gun.
  • Cullen locks up the Swede.
  • “Are you one of the tribe now?’– Cullen
  • “I know it was you that armed the Indians then you took a harmless drunk and you lit a fuse. Its you that’s responsible for that massacre out there and you’re gonna confess to it.”– Cullen
  • “It was wonderful wasn’t it? Blood thirsty heathens with modern weapons led by a drunken white man of god.”– The Swede
  • “You try to tell yourself that you do not like the killing but you just can’t stop.“- The Swede
  • The Swede is trying to breakdown Cullen saying a good man with doubt wouldn’t kill. He believes that he gets satisfaction out of killing.
  • “You don’t need my confession you only need that to appease Ms.Lily Bell”- The Swede
  • The plot of land Sean give to Ruth for the church is right in the middle of town.
  • Lily asks Cullen if he confessed.
  • “You’ll have to set him free Mr.Bohannon”- Lily
  • “I can’t do that. He’s a dangerous man.”– Cullen
  • “He’s more valuable to me then dangerous to you.”- Lily
  • Cullen hands Lily the key.
  • Elam and Psalms rob the train bringing whiskey to the salon so that Carl is force to sell to Sean and Mickey.
  • The Swede now free shows up to drink with Cullen. He tells him about his awful imprisonment in Andersonville, thus why he hates confederates.
  • “I hated you before we even met.”– The Swede
  • “You’re one insane, evil son of a bitch.”– Cullen
  • “The reason you hate me is that I am a constant reminder of the capacity for evil that resides within you.”– The Swede
  • “I’m riding out of this mull piss town and I ain’t looking back.”- Cullen
  • Cullen is ready to leave when Lily stops him.
  • “So much for your honor.”- Lily
  • “I know that when things get hard you run. You shot and buried your friend, running away won’t change that.”– Lily
  • “You know that I waited for you at the dance.”– Lily
  • “Well you sure as hell found quick comfort didn’t you?”- Cullen
  • “You ran away. You can disagree with my decisions all you like but judging my choices won’t change yours.”– Lily
  • Lily walks away.
  • “Damit”- Cullen
  • Lily finds out it was Elam that robed Carl’s whiskey and goes to see him. She finds him drunk.
  • “I’m done negotiating, I quit.”– Elam
  • Lily is surprised to see that Cullen hasn’t left.
  • “Listen what you said was true. First thing I did after I buried Doc was pack my saddle bags. I was just looking for a reason then you let Swede out of the pig car…I was gonna up and run just like I always do.”– Cullen
  • “Look Durant’s half dead you know that, he ain’t holding here know more and either is that Swedish son of a bitch.”- Cullen
  • “Why are you still here?”- Lily
  • “I could leave but…”- Cullen
  • “I’m glad that you stayed.”- Lily
  • The Swede uncovers that Durant has been inflating the mileage which is what the government is paying them by thus committing fraud. He tells Lily.
  • Cullen goes to see Elam on his new piece of land and warns him that when the Indians attack they wont care who he’s working for.
  • “Heard you quit the railroad.”- Cullen
  • “Gonna build me a house.”- Elam
  • “Ain’t know place for me on this railroad.”- Elam
  • Sean and Mickey threaten Carl that they will continue robing his whiskey until he sells the bar to them, he agrees.
  • Lily shows up to see Cullen and they have sex.
  • (Song playing is Annabel by The Duhks)
  • Sean longingly stares at Ruth while Elam looks at picture of Eva.
  • In the morning Cullen tires to not wake Lily as he heads to work.
  • “Cullen”- Lily
  • “I better get out to the bridge site.”- Cullen
  • They both smile.

Final Thoughts:

This was the first episode where everything quietly transitioned to all the characters. Nearly everyone’s actions were for there romantic interests, Elam getting involved with Sean/Mickey for Eva, Sean giving away land for Ruth & Cullen staying for Lily. This was also the first episode where the big action was put into character drama and not fight scenes which was a nice change.

Next on AMC’s Hell on Wheels Sunday September 30th episode 2×08 promo:

Comments

Share your thoughts & opinions

